Carleton University will present honorary degrees to nine exemplary Canadians and install Charles Chi as Chancellor at its Spring Convocation ceremonies taking place Tuesday, June 5 to Friday, June 8.

“Each of these recipients is extraordinary,” says Carleton President Roseann O’Reilly Runte. “Each one has made a significant contribution to our nation and the world through science and scholarship, creative writing and communication, and service to the community and to the people and peoples who make up our country. Their words will inspire our graduates to strive to contribute their own talents and energies to the betterment of our world.”

Two ceremonies will be held each day in the University Fieldhouse. The morning ceremony will take place at 9:30 a.m. and the afternoon ceremony will begin at 2:30 p.m.  Each recipient will be awarded the degree of Doctor of Laws, honoris causa.

Please contact us for availability of honorary degree recipients and copies of their addresses.

9:30 a.m. June 5

  • Installation of Charles Chi as Chancellor of Carleton University.

2:00 p.m. June 5  

  • Elijah Harper will be recognized for his outstanding contribution to the Aboriginal community and democracy through public service.
  • Ron Rosenes will be recognized for his passionate advocacy for the rights of people all over the world living with HIV/AIDS.

9:30 a.m. June 6

  • Ian Hacking will be recognized for his distinguished contribution to scholarship and public intellectual life.

2:00 p.m. June 6  

  • Craig Kielburger and Marc Kielburger will be recognized for their exemplary leadership in the promotion of the rights of children and the promotion of ethical living and social responsibility.

9:30 a.m. June 7

  • Chaviva Hošek will be recognized for her transformational role in advancing Canada’s reputation as a global leader in the international research community.

2 p.m. June 7

  • Julie Payette will be recognized for her leadership in the exploration of space and as an inspiration to Canadian youth through her example of achievement and service.

9:30 a.m. June 8

  • Anne Michaels will be recognized for her outstanding contribution to the arts and Canadian culture.

2 p.m. June 8

  • Elizabeth Hay will be recognized for her outstanding contribution to Canadian literature, broadcasting, teaching and the cultural heritage of the Nation’s Capital

For all the details surrounding Carleton Convocation ceremonies and honorary degree recipients, please visit:


For more information:
Steven Reid
Media Relations Officer
Carleton University
(613) 520-2600, ext. 8718
(613) 240-3305, ext. 8718

Follow us on Twitter:
Need an expert? Go to:

Tuesday, May 15, 2012 in
Share: Twitter, Facebook

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *