By Alysha A. Cunningham

Kahente Horn-Miller, associate professor in Carleton University’s School of Indigenous and Canadian Studies, and inaugural Associate Vice-President, Indigenous Teaching, Learning, and Research, is a recipient of a 2023 3M National Teaching Fellowship.

Photo by Dave Chan.

“Carleton takes great pride in Kahente’s work, which is aligned with our institutional commitment to conciliation, community, innovation and teaching excellence,” said Jerry Tomberlin, Carleton’s Provost and Vice-President Academic.

“As a leader, teacher and innovator, Kahente centres her practices in Haudenosaunee traditions, which focus on the importance of community and deep-seated sense of responsibility and accountability to all the beings in the world.”

The 3M National Teaching Fellowship is Canada’s most prestigious recognition of excellence in post-secondary teaching and educational leadership. The community of 3M National Teaching Fellows embodies the highest ideals of teaching excellence and scholarship with a commitment to encourage and support the educational experience of every learner. Up to 10 fellowships are awarded annually.

Horn-Miller’s leadership in fostering Indigenous ways of knowing in teaching and learning in the academy and in the community continues to have an extraordinarily positive impact at Carleton and beyond.

“The impact of Kahente’s leadership far exceeds the walls of her classroom,” said David J. Hornsby, Carleton’s Associate Vice-President (Teaching and Learning).

“I’ve had many opportunities to witness first-hand Kahente’s passion for Indigenous pedagogy and scholarship, her deep commitment to student success, and her authentic leadership that is continually transforming the teaching and learning culture at Carleton.”

“Kahente’s students value opportunities to be exposed to perspectives that they have never accounted for before and describe her classes as spaces for personal growth, learning and partnerships,” said Tomberlin.

Since starting at Carleton as a visiting Indigenous scholar in 2014, Horn-Miller has created several new, innovative courses and worked to implement many Indigenous initiatives. These include the Collaborative Indigenous Learning Bundles, serving as co-chair of the Carleton University Strategic Indigenous Initiatives Committee that developed the Kinàmàgawin report, Carleton’s Indigenous strategy to create a more welcoming space for Indigenous students, faculty and staff, as well as played a significant leadership role in establishing the Ānako Indigenous Research Institute at Carleton.

“Her relentless work has contributed to many changes that reenergized the relationship between the university and Indigenous peoples,” said Hornsby.

Horn-Miller is the 11th Carleton faculty member to receive the award. Previous winners include Alan Gillmor (1995), Brian Little (1995), Donald Westwood (1997), Aviva Freedman (1997), Tim Pychyl (1998), Janna Fox (2002), Bob Burk (2006), Adrian Chan (2012), Alan Steele (2017) and Sarah Todd (2019).

She is also the recipient of numerous Carleton teaching awards, including the Provost’s Fellowship in Teaching Award and The Raving Ravens award, given by students to recognize instructors who are highly engaged with their learning and willing to put extra time to support them.

Carleton Newsroom

Monday, May 1, 2023 in ,
Share: Twitter, Facebook