We are very pleased to announce that two outstanding members of our community have accepted important leadership roles at Carleton:

Maria DeRosa Appointed as Dean of Science

Maria DeRosa

Maria DeRosa

Dr. Maria DeRosa has been appointed as the Dean of the Faculty of Science, for a term ending June 30, 2027. Since August 2021, Maria has served as Interim Dean in the Faculty of Science where she has already demonstrated remarkable strategic leadership.

Maria is a professor in the Department of Chemistry and the Institute of Biochemistry, and the principal investigator of the Laboratory for Aptamer Discovery and Development of Emerging Research (LADDER), a research facility funded by the Canada Foundation for Innovation Leaders Opportunity Fund and the Ontario Research Fund. She previously served as Associate Dean (Recruitment and Retention) in the Faculty of Science from 2018 to 2020, and as Chair of the Department of Chemistry from 2020 to 2021. She has received several awards for her outstanding teaching and research contributions, including the John Charles Polanyi Research Award, an Ontario Early Researcher Award and a Capital Educators’ Award.

Betina Appel Kuzmarov Appointed as Associate Vice-President (International)

Betina Appel Kuzmarov

Betina Appel Kuzmarov

Dr. Betina Appel Kuzmarov has been appointed as Associate Vice-President (International) for a five-year term effective July 1, 2022. Betina currently serves as the chair of Carleton’s Department of Law and Legal Studies, where she has been a faculty member since 2006. She previously served as Clerk of Carleton’s Senate, and Associate Dean (Students and Enrolment) in the Faculty of Public Affairs. She also served as one of four co-chairs for the university’s current Strategic Integrated Plan. A trained lawyer, her research interests lie in the area of international law, as well as law and religion. Her research and training all focus on aspects of international law or transnational legal issues. In addition to her legal background, she brings practical understanding of the value of international mobility, having been both an international student and an international visiting scholar.

Betina will succeed Dr. Karen Schwartz, who has successfully completed four years in this position. Along with the Advisory Committee on Internationalization, Karen developed an International Strategic Plan to map a course to our further enhanced global ambitions. She currently co-chairs the Centre for Community Engagement’s Strategic Planning Task Force and the Carleton committee overseeing the Carnegie Classification for Community Engagement application, and has previously served on the task force guiding the university’s Strategic Integrated Plan. We would like to take this opportunity to express our gratitude to Karen for the outstanding contributions that she has made to Carleton throughout her career.

We would like to extend our sincere thanks to everyone who assisted and provided advice during the selection processes for both of these important appointments. Please join us in congratulating Maria and Betina on their appointments!


Benoit-Antoine Bacon
President and Vice-Chancellor

Jerry Tomberlin
Provost and Vice-President (Academic)

Rafik Goubran
Vice-President (Research and International)

Tuesday, March 15, 2022 in
Share: Twitter, Facebook