The headlines are not readable.

68th National Newspaper Awards Recognize Carleton Faculty and Alumni

The National Newspaper Awards (NNA), established in 1949 by the Toronto Press Club, have recognized eight Carleton alumni and faculty in 2017.

There are 21 categories: Arts and Entertainment, Beat Reporting, Breaking News, Business, Columns, Editorial Cartooning, Editorials, Explanatory Work, Feature Photo, International, Investigations, Local Reporting (for newspapers under 30,000 average daily circulation), Long Feature, News Feature Photo, News Photo, Politics, Presentation, Project of the Year, Short Feature, Sports and Sports Photo.

This is the third year the awards have designated a Journalist of the Year. Mark MacKinnon, Globe and Mail reporter and Carleton alum, was chosen for this honour from among the category winners by a panel of previous NNA laureates. MacKinnon also won in the International category for his reporting on Syria, Brexit and Turkey.

Carleton alumna Christina Frangou, also a journalist with the Globe and Mail, won the Long Feature category for a gut-wrenching story of a young widow’s life in the aftermath of her husband’s death.

All category winners received cheques for $1,000 and a certificate of award. The Journalist of the Year is awarded $2,500.

Carleton Prof. Andrew Cohen was a runner-up in the Short Feature category.

Other Carleton alumni who also received honorable mentions include:

  • Jayme Poisson, runner-up in Investigations category
  • Randy Richmond, runner-up in Investigations category
  • Amy Dempsey, runner-up in the Long Feature category
  • Katie DeRosa, runner up in the Project of the Year category
  • Kristy Kirkup, runner-up in the Project of the Year category

For more details on this year’s NNA winners visit:

Media Contact
Steven Reid
Media Relations Officer
Carleton University
613-520-2600, ext. 8718

Follow us on Twitter:
Need an expert? Go to: