Jacqueline Chapman, one of the winner of the 2016 GRIT Awards, holds a fish on a river shore.

Seven Grad Students received this year’s Graduate Research and Innovative Thinking (GRIT) awards.

The Faculty of Graduate and Postdoctoral Affairs has honoured seven graduates students with its Graduate Research and Innovative Thinking (GRIT) awards.

This story originally appeard on the Grad Students website. Read the original story here.

The Faculty created these awards two years ago to recognize outstanding Carleton PhD students at the ABD stage of their research (all comprehensive exams have been completed and the dissertation proposal has been successfully defended). These awards provide funding to support excellence and involvement in academic research activities. Each student will receive up to $5,000, depending on his/her ask.

This year’s GRIT Award winners are:
Dunja Apostolov-Dimitrijevic (Political Science)
Jacqueline Chapman (Biology)
Sara Gilani (Civil and Environmental Engineering)
Alejandro Hernandez (Sociology)
Sarah Katz-Lavigne – (Norman Paterson School of International Affairs)
Emily Mastronardi (Chemistry)
Shaun Stevenson (English Language and Literature)