Manning Innovation Awards and Symposium to be Held in Ottawa

On Thursday, Oct. 18, 2012 a symposium celebrating innovation will be held at Carleton University. It will be moderated by local broadcaster and entrepreneur Mark Sutcliffe. Two panel discussions, entitled Incentives and Barriers to Innovation and Perspectives on Social Innovation, will be held. They will be followed by a networking lunch amid displays of innovative projects by young Canadians. The symposium is free and open to the public, but space is limited and registration is required.

“We are thrilled to be part of this prestigious and notable event,” said Mark Forbes, associate vice-president (Research) at Carleton. “Carleton University greatly values innovation and discovery, and hosting the Manning Celebration of Innovation Symposium is a natural fit for us.”

Well-known innovators will be speaking at the symposium’s panel discussions at Carleton. They include:

  • Gilles Patry, president and CEO, Canadian Foundation for Innovation
  • Steve West, CEO, Nordion Inc.
  • Chad Gaffield, president, Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council
  • Tessa Hebb, director, Carleton Centre for Community Innovation; 2012 Manning Award nominee
  • Tracey Clark, chair, board of advisors, Hub Ottawa; managing director, Bridgehead Coffeehouses and Roastery
  • Rena Bivens, adjunct professor, Pauline Jewett Institute of Women’s and Gender Studies at Carleton University

The symposium will also feature comments by the recipient of the Ernest C. Manning Awards Foundation 2012 Encana Principal Award and presentations by this year’s Young Canadian Award winners. Carleton University President Roseann O’Reilly Runte will give opening remarks.

Tickets for the Celebration of Innovation Symposium are free but registration is required. Click here to register. More information about the symposium and speakers is available here.

In addition, the Ernest C. Manning Awards Foundation, steward for one of Canada’s most prestigious awards for innovation, is celebrating its 31st awards gala and innovation symposium in Ottawa this October.

The Foundation, named after former Alberta Premier and Senator Ernest C. Manning, honours Canadians of all ages with the imagination to innovate and the stamina to succeed.

The Foundation is holding its 31st annual awards gala on Wednesday, Oct. 17, 2012 at the Ottawa Convention Centre. Gala co-hosts are Senator Pamela Wallin and the Hon. James Moore, Minister of Heritage and Official Languages.

Foundation President David B. Mitchell said more than 400 leaders from across Canada in government, business, academia and former Manning laureates will be in Ottawa for the celebrations.

“There is a critical need for more innovation in Canada,” said Mitchell. “Canadians need to create and commercialize innovations to compete in the global economy. This foundation supports, celebrates and draws attention to Canadian innovators and young Canadians showing potential to become future innovators.”

A limited number of tickets and table sponsorships are available for the Ernest C. Manning Awards Foundation Gala on Wed. Oct. 17, 2012. Visit or call 403-930-4333 for more information.

Media interviews with the 2012 winners and Manning Foundation President David Mitchell are available. English and French spokespeople will be available. Media feeds will be available at both the gala and symposium. Media passes are available, but accreditation is required.

About the Manning Awards:
Since it was established in 1980, close to 250 Canadians have received Manning Awards and more than 2,500 Canadians have been honoured by being nominated.  In 1992, the Foundation established the Young Canadian Program which recognizes eight innovative projects selected by a team of judges at the annual Canada-Wide Science Fair.


For more information:
Chris Cline
Media Relations Co-ordinator
Carleton University
613-520-2600, ext. 1391