Updated – Resumption of Parliament: Carleton Experts Available

The following Carleton experts are available to discuss various issues related to the resumption of Parliament on January 31, 2012.

Please check back as experts will be added.

Aboriginal and Northern Affairs

Katherine Graham
Professor, Public Policy and Administration
Senior Advisor to the Provost
613-520-2600, ext. 8925
katherine_graham@carleton.ca

Katherine Graham’s expertise extends to Aboriginal issues, citizen engagement, municipal politics, general Canadian politics and the urban/infrastructure agenda.

Political Parties

Jon Pammett
Professor, Political Science
613-520-2600, ext. 2793
jon_pammett@carleton.ca

Jon H. Pammett is an expert on elections, survey research and trends in political participation.  He is co-editor (with Chris Dornan) of The Canadian Federal Election of 2011  and co-author of Dynasties and Interludes: Past and Present in Canadian Electoral Politics.  Pammett can discuss party strategies during the session of Parliament.

Justice

Dawn Moore
Associate Professor of Law
613-520-2600, ext. 3823
dawn_moore@carleton.ca

Dawn Moore’s areas of interest include prisoners’ rights, mental health and the law, drug regulation, rehabilitation programs and women in conflict with the law. She is available to comment on the ramifications of the omnibus crime bill for prisons, policing and sentencing.

Brian J. Given
Professor of Sociology and Anthropology
613-520-2600, ext. 3571
brian_given@carleton.ca

Brian Given is available to talk about gun control and issues surrounding the long gun registry. He is currently working on a book entitled Gun Culture in Canada.

Budget

Christopher Waddell
Director, School of Journalism and Communications
613-520-2600, ext. 8495
chris_waddell@carleton.ca

Christopher Waddell is an expert in political journalism. He’s the Carty Chair in Business and Financial Journalism, and is former national editor for the Globe and Mail and the parliamentary bureau chief for CBC News. He is available to comment on parliamentary budgets and public policy.

Allan Maslove
Professor, School of Public Policy and Administration
613-520-2600, ext. 1285
613-866-1475
allan_maslove@carleton.ca

Allan Maslove is the former editor of How Ottawa Spends and an expert in budgeting and taxation.  He can discuss issues related to general fiscal and budgetary policy, tax issues and health policy, including federal transfers to the provinces.

Defence

Elinor Sloan
Associate Professor, Department of Political Science
613-520-2600, ext. 2782
elinor_sloan@carleton.ca

Elinor Sloan’s research interests include U.S. and Canadian defence policy and military capabilities, homeland defence, ballistic missile defence, NORAD and NATO military capabilities. She is able to discuss the potential roles and contributions of the Canadian Forces.

-30-

For more information:
Chris Cline
Media Relations
Carleton University
613-520-2600, ext. 1391
christopher_cline@carleton.ca