Resumption of Parliament: Carleton Experts Available

The following Carleton experts are available to discuss various issues related to the resumption of Parliament on June 2, 2011.

***Please check back as experts will be added.

Prisons and Justice

Justin Piché
PhD candidate, Department of Sociology and Anthropology
613-850-5878
jpiche@connect.carleton.ca

Justin Piché is available to speak on issues related to prison expansion in Canada, crime prevention and public safety.

Doris Buss
Associate Professor, Law
613-520-2600, ext. 8011
doris_buss@carleton.ca

Professor Buss’ current projects include rape as a weapon of war, international war crimes prosecutions and polygamy. She is available to speak to the media about women’s rights and international policy.

Christina Harrison Baird
Instructor, Law
613-282-2554
Christina_harrison@carleton.ca
cmh@humanrightsadvocate.ca

Christina Harrison Baird is available to speak on issues related to human trafficking and international human rights law.

Brian J. Given
Professor Sociology/Anthropology
(613) 520-2600, ext. 3571
brian_given@carleton.ca

Carleton Anthropology Professor Brian Given is available to talk about gun control and issues surrounding the long gun registry.

Health

Amedeo D’Angiulli
Assistant Professor, Psychology
School of Interdisciplinary Studies
613-520-2600, ext. 2954
amedeo@connect.carleton.ca

Amedeo D’Angiulli is able to discuss issues related to children’s health, including poverty, environmental factors and socioeconomic status.

Budget

Christopher Waddell
Associate Professor and Associate Director, School of Journalism and Communications
613-850-2313
cwaddell@connect.carleton.ca

Christopher Waddell is an expert in political journalism. He’s the Carty Chair in Business and Financial Journalism, and is former national editor for the Globe and Mail and the parliamentary bureau chief for CBC News. He is available to comment on parliamentary budgets and public policy.

Allan Maslove
Professor, School of Public Policy and Administration
613-520-2600, ext. 1285
613-866-1475
allan_maslove@carleton.ca

Allan Maslove is the former editor of How Ottawa Spends and an expert in budgeting and taxation.  He can discuss issues related to general fiscal and budgetary policy, tax issues and health policy including federal transfers to the provinces.

Defence

Elinor Sloan
Associate Professor, International Relations
613-520-2600, ext. 2782
Elinor_Sloan@carleton.ca

Elinor Sloan is able to discuss the potential roles and contributions of the Canadian Forces under the new government.

David Carment
Professor, International Affairs
613-520-2600, ext. 6662
david_carment@carleton.ca

Professor Carment is an expert in conflict analysis, aid policy, failed states, foreign policy, mediation, peacekeeping, risk analysis and Afghanistan. He is able to discuss consequences of conflict and the implications for Canada, as well as issues related to development and diaspora.

Policy

Katherine Graham
Professor, Public Policy and Administration
Senior Advisor to the Provost
613-520-2600, ext. 8925
katherine_graham@carleton.ca

Professor Graham is available to discuss federal policy, activities affecting cities and communities, and policy related to Aboriginal issues.

Melissa Haussman
Associate Professor, Department of Political Science
613-321-2856
melissa_haussman@carleton.ca

Professor Haussman is an expert in comparative U.S.-Canadian gender politics and policy. She has published widely on questions relating to social policy and party positions, and on structural barriers faced by women candidates. She is available to speak on reproductive policy, female representation in government and gender gaps in policy preferences.

Social Media

Josh Greenberg
Associate Professor, School of Journalism and Communication
joshua_greenberg@carleton.ca

Professor Greenberg is an expert on social media. He is able to discuss issues related to growing use of social media by politicians and citizens.

Polls

Jon Pammett
Professor, Political Science
613-228-0442
jon_pammett@carleton.ca

Jon Pammett is an expert in voting behaviour, survey research and the decline in political participation. He is able to discuss support levels for the parties and the electoral future of the Liberal Party.

-30-

For more information:
Chris Cline
Media Relations
Carleton University
613-520-2600, ext. 1391
Christopher_Cline@carleton.ca