Carleton University Experts Available to Talk on Issues Related to Women and International Women’s Day March 8

The following Carleton University faculty, graduate students and alumni are available to talk about issues related to women and International Women’s Day on March 8. Some of these people will be presenting at the Women’s Worlds 2011 conference taking place in Ottawa from July 3 to 7. Carleton is a co-host of that event.

Katherine Arnup
Associate Professor, School of Canadian Studies
613-719-9596
katherine_arnup@carleton.ca
karnup@gmail.com
Expertise:  History of the Canadian family, the changing perception of families, LGBT families and same-sex marriage.

Shelley Brown
Professor, Psychology
613-520-2600, ext. 1505
Shelley_brown@carleton.ca
Expertise: 
Why women commit crimes. She spent 10 years with the research branch of Correctional Service Canada as well as the National Parole Board of Canada.

Doris Buss
Associate Professor, Law
613-520-2600, ext. 8011
doris_buss@carleton.ca
Expertise:  Women’s international human rights, war crimes and sexual violence, women’s rights and cultural and religious practices. Current projects include rape as a weapon of war, international war crimes prosecutions and polygamy and women’s rights. 

May Chazan
PhD candidate, Geography
613-234-2424
mchazan@hotmail.com
mchazan@connect.carleton.ca
Expertise: Critical perspectives on grandmothers’ advocacy and solidarity. Between 2006 and 2010, Chazan collaborated with nurses from the Hillcrest AIDS Centre Trust, a South African community-based organization, to conduct research on the impact of HIV/AIDS on South African women and their families. Currently, she is documenting intersections between South-African based community support groups and an international network that includes Canadian grandmothers.

Ron Couchman
Fourth year womens and gender studies honours student, TA and RA.
rcouchma@connect.carleton.ca
Expertise
:  Masculinity and sexual violence, focusing on militarized sexual violence. Active with the Coalition for a Carleton Sexual Assault Center and advocates for a student run sexual assault support centre. He is president of Men for Equality and Non-Violence, which encourages men to become active allies in the fight to end gender-based violence.Men for Equality and Non-Violence – men.carleton@gmail.com.

Lorraine Dyke
Director, Centre for Research and Education on Women and Work
Professor, Sprott School of Business
Lorraine_dyke@carleton.ca
613-520-2600,  ext. 2389
Expertise:  Women and work, workforce diversity, careers, management and organizational change. 

Jennifer Evans
Associate Professor, History
613-520-2600, ext. 2848
Jennifer_Evans@carleton.cA
Expertise: History of sexuality; war, sexual violence and military masculinity; prostitution, homosexuality, age of consent and juvenile delinquency in 20th century East and West Europe, especially Germany. The Holocaust and other victims, particularly persecution of homosexuals; gay rights movements in Europe; women’s rights; social and legal rights of sexual minorities; queer pornography and censorship; historical context behind International Women’s Day and the way the day was celebrated behind the Iron Curtain and in East and West Germany, as well as in the international labour movement.

Adelle Forth
Associate Professor, Psychology
613-520-2600, ext. 1267
adelle_forth@carleton.ca
Expertise:
  Victims of psychopaths and the assessment of psychopathy in male and female non-criminals.

Barbara Freeman
Adjunct Research Professor, Journalism
613-520-7404
barbara_freeman@carleton.ca
Expertise: Media and diversity issues, gay/lesbian issues, women’s rights and media history.
**Prof. Freeman is overseas at this time but available via email.

Monique Frize
Professor, Systems and Computer Engineering
239-558-5552
mfrize@connect.carleton.ca
Expertise:  Clinical decision support (obstetrics and newborn outcomes); medical device management in developed and developing countries; women in science and engineering,

Patrizia Gentile
Assistant Professor, Institute of Women’s and Gender Studies
613-520-2600 ext. 1456
patrizia_gentile@carleton.ca
Expertise:  Cultural and gender history; history of sexuality; history and theory of the body; beauty contests, e.g. the Miss Civil Service contests of the 1950s as a recruitment tool for the federal public service.

Melissa Haussman
Associate Professor, Department of Political Science
613-520-2600 ext. 2768
Melissa_haussman@carleton.ca
Expertise:  Factors promoting and hurting the chances of women getting elected in the U.S. and Canada and comparative international commitments to women’s reproductive rights in the U.S., Canada and globally.

Kanina Holmes
Assistant Professor, Journalism
613-769-9410
kanina_holmes@carleton.ca
Expertise:
  Women and social media, specifically the online communities of Canadian military spouses, as part of her PhD research.

Katharine Kelly
Associate Professor, Institute of Women’s and Gender Studies and the Department of Sociology and Anthropology
613-520-2600, ext. 6643
Katharine_kelly@carleton.ca
Expertise:  Conflict and conflict resolution, violence against women and youth in conflict with the law, and crime prevention. Current research project includes Girl Power and Wolf Spirit programs for Aboriginal youths and conflict resolution training in the custody setting. 

Jacqueline Kennelly
Assistant Professor, Anthropology and Sociology
(613) 520-2600, ext. 8103
jacqueline_kennelly@carleton.ca
Expertise:  Young women’s involvement in youth-led social movements, feminist theories of agency and the state and young women and gender dynamics within youth cultures.

Fran Klodawsky
Associate Professor, Department of Geography and Environmental Studies
613-520-2600, ext. 8689
fran_klodawsky@carleton.ca
Expertise:  Housing dilemmas of single-parent families, homelessness and affordable housing, feminist geography, dynamics of inclusion, exclusion and place and case studies of feminist community organizing.

Susanne Klausen
Associate Professor, History
613-520-2600, ext. 2827
susanne_klausen@carleton.ca
Expertise:  History of abortion in 20th century Africa, politics of reproduction in South Africa during apartheid and in particular the passage and impact of the restrictive 1975 abortion law and its relationship to the state’s program of population control in the 1970s and 1980s.

Debora Lopreite
Adjunct Research Professor
Institute of Political Economy
613-560-2600 ext 1422
Debora_lopreite@carleton.ca
Expertise
: Gender and international governance, gender, welfare, politics in Latin America; feminism and institutions, reproductive rights and child care policies, with particular reference to Argentina and Mexico.:

Laura Macdonald
Professor, Political Science
613-520-2600, ext. 2771
laura_macdonald@carleton.ca
Expertise:  Women in Latin America.

Kim Matheson
Professor, Psychology and Vice-President (Research and International)
613-520-2600, ext. 3570
kim_matheson@carleton.ca
Expertise:  Women’s mental health, and in particular psychosocial and physiological stress processes associated with gender discrimination.

Lisa Mills
Professor, Political Science
613-520-2600, ext. 2635
lisa_mills@carleton.ca
Expertise
:  Women in Latin America, especially policies to improve maternal health, focusing on Mexico.

Dawn Moore
Associate Professor, Law
613-520-2600, ext. 3823
dawn_moore@carleton.ca
Expertise:  Harms that women encounter in specialized courts with a specific focus on drug treatment courts.

Pauline Rankin
Associate Professor, School of Canadian Studies and the Department of Political Science
Associate Dean (Research and Graduate Affairs) for the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences.
613-520-2600, ext.
Pauline_rankin@carleton.ca
Expertise:  Gender and women’s studies. Dr. Rankin is actively involved in the Womens’ Worlds 2011 conference taking place in Ottawa in July.

Samina Saifuddin
Doctoral Candidate
Sprott School of Business
ssaifud1@connect.carleton.ca
Expertise:  Cross-cultural comparisons between Canada and Bangladesh about the factors affecting men and women’s choice of a major in the high tech engineering field. This study is a work in progress. Research results will help enhance our understanding of the global gap in women’s representation in the high tech sector and suggest policies that can reduce the global gap in this field.

Pamela Walker
Professor, History
Joint Chair in Women’s’ Studies
613-520-2600, ext.1729
pamela_walker@carleton.ca
Expertise:  Women’s involvement in the U.S. civil rights movement and the modern history of women; women in religion.

Micheline White
Associate Professor, English and College of the Humanities
613-520-2600, ext. 1356
micheline_white@carleton.ca
Expertise:  History of ideas about motherhood, women and 16th-century religious conflict, women’s writings about female education and Queen Elizabeth I and Katherine Parr.  

***Please continue checking online as more names may be added to this list.